Posted by: mostwanted | Sunday, July 2, 2006

My New Computer

So my old Medion computer decided to go outta commision on me about a month ago. It was probably my fault for carelessly installing/uninstalling hardware and plausibly frying the motherboard in the process (since virtually all other components of the old computer still work). Oh well I had that trusty ol’ system for about 3.5 years and it served me well. I guess I was gonna got a new system fairly soon here anyways, so this might as well be the time to do it. Although I was hoping to get a nice laptop but that will have to wait a few more years. 😦 Anyways I, being one who cant possibly live without a computer, bought a decent rig on impulse. I think this computer will be able to handle Windows Vista when that ships next year so I will be ready and good to go. It cost me about $500 and this is what I have to show for it, specs:

– Metallic blue Chieftec / ASUS Server Tower Case with a front door panel and full side-glass window.
– ASUS K8V SE Deluxe Motherboard. [More info here]
– AMD Athlon 64 3200+ CPU (running @ 2.4GHz Overclocked :)). [More info @ NewEgg]
– Antec TruePower 430W PSU. [PCStats Review]
– Kingston HyperX PC3200 DDR 400MHz SDRAM 1GB (2 Sticks).
ATi Radeon X800 Pro 256MB GDDR3 AGP 8x Video Card. [ATi Page, CNet Review]
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS with 6-ch output and front control panel. [TechSpot Review]
– Western Digital 200GB SATA/150 HDD. (7200 RPM & 8MB Cache)
– Dual 8x DVD-RW DVD Burners (one is Lite-On and dunno about the other).
Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 Premium Surround Sound THX Audio Speaker System. 550W RMS speakers and sub. 🙂 [Official Site]
Logitech Mx510 USB Optical Mouse; Saitek PC Gamers USB Keyboard (with GamePad and backlit blue LEDs) (SOLD); Standard Floppy Drive; 4-5 Interior Case Fans with blue LED lighting + one 1ft. long Black Light (Dark Purple Neon effect). And a whole lotta nifty little extra accessories that came with the package.

New additions and parts from my old system:

ViewSonic E70fb TruFlat 17″ monitor. (SOLD)
– 2nd PSU ~ Antec TruePower 400W to power my RAID* setup. (SOLD)
– *Seagate 200GB + Seagate 120GB (SOLD) + Maxtor 120GB (SOLD) + Maxtor 80GB (SOLD) + Western Digital 250GB running in RAID setups (using IDE** + built-in SATA***).
– **Bought an Adaptec Ultra ATA/133 PCI to IDE RAID Expansion Card. Currently using 2/4 slots on the card. The IDE slots on the mobo are full.
– ***Also bought a SATA -> PATA (EIDE) converter so I could use one of my EIDE hard drives via the faster SATA socket. Currently also using 2/4 SATA slots on the mobo.
– All running on Windows XP Professional Corporate with SP3 NOW!

Pics maybe later, this is all for now! 😀

Leave a Reply

Categories

